Sat | Aug 15, 2020


Published:Monday | May 30, 2016 | 12:00 AM
Rita Marley


Rita Marley among most influential contemporary African diaspora leaders

An international committee headed by Dr Roland A. Y. Holou, founder and CEO of Diaspora Engager, has named Rita Marley one of the 50 most influential contemporary African Diaspora leaders. The accolade was based on outstanding works, excellent professionalism and impressive character in executing duties related to Africa and the African diaspora. Other notable recipients include Dr Julius W. Garvey (USA, Jamaica), Reverend Jesse L. Jackson, Sr (USA), President Barack Obama (USA), Ambassador Dr Erieka Bennett (USA, Ghana), Professor Verene A. Shepherd (Jamaica), Dr Oprah G. Winfrey (USA), Sir Hilary M. Beckles (Barbados), and Prophet Shepherd Bushiri (Malawi, South Africa). A recently published book titled African Diaspora Leaders, lists all honorees and their contributions. Dr Rita Marley carries out philanthropic work in Jamaica and Ghana, Africa, through the Rita Marley Foundation. The Foundation seeks to empower the youth through education and elevate the less fortunate.


Sizzla Youth Foundation making change in August Town

The Sizzla Youth Foundation has been making positive changes across the Greater August Town Community along with local leaders and community based organisations. They have been working with key external partners such as the University of the West Indies, the Social Development Commission, the Citizen Security and Justice Programme, the Project Management Institute, the August Town Police, and others. Recently, the Foundation coordinated the first meeting at Judgement Yard to start the plans for the 178th Emancipation Celebration, which commences on June 1. The initiatives to continue to push the themes of non-violence, community development, tourism, literacy and sports development were discussed. The Sizzla Youth Foundation has also sponsored the development of the August Town Netball Team, along with other events. These events are the August Town Basic Schools football and athletic championship, the August Town Primary School sports day, and the staging of a number of football and netball competitions to foster community unity, along with games between UWI and August Town.


CPTC key in promoting Brand Jamaica - Grange

Culture and Entertainment Minister Olivia 'Babsy' Grange, has charged the Creative Production and Training Centre Limited (CPTC) and its new board to uncover creative means of promoting Brand Jamaica globally and use its products as vehicles to explore new partnership opportunities within the global arena of creative productions.

Speaking at the recent launch of CPTC's JamVision cable channel, formerly C-TV, Minister Grange said, "Our cultural agreements with friendly countries have spaces for the exchange of content and partnerships in the creative industry, such as in the area of film. These are avenues that CPTC must now engage to ensure that elsewhere, (in South Africa, Cuba, Colombia, etc.), our images are shared in light of the global attraction to, and the taste for, Jamaican creative products and services."

The minister highlighted that the Ministry of Culture, Gender, Entertainment and Sport is determined to establish new platforms while revitalising old ones as it seeks to promote prosperity among our people.

"My ministry takes very seriously the vision reiterated by our Prime Minister, Most Honourable Andrew Holness, of a prosperous Jamaica by way of partnerships, engaged to grow our economy, while enhancing our global competitiveness," she added.

The minister also explained that in keeping with the agency's mandate to record, archive and promote diverse expressions of Jamaica's rich culture and heritage, the agency must also challenge the Jamaican people through sounds and images that are creatively packaged and presented through JamVision.

Grange, also presented a Citation by the CPTC to Former Prime Minister Edward Seaga for his enduring vision and patriotism which led to creation of the CPTC in 1984.

The new board of the CPTC includes: Rochelle Cameron - chairman, Clyde McKenzie - deputy chairman, Harold Malcolm, Elon Parkinson, Delroy Morgan, Orville Beckford, Basil Dawkins, Kenrick Barnaby, Nadine Sutherland, Franklyn St Juste, William Barclay and Dennis Howard.