Sun | Oct 25, 2020

NDTC's Easter Sunrise presentation

Published:Friday | April 19, 2019 | 12:08 AM
Kerry-Ann Henry in 'A Prayer'.
Kerry-Ann Henry in 'A Prayer'.

The National Dance Theatre Company (NDTC), returns to the Little Theatre on Easter Sunday, April 21, for this year’s 'Morning of Movement and Music'. Under the leadership of artistic director, Marlon Simms, the 6 a.m. concert, will feature dance works by the late Professor Rex Nettleford, Clive Thompson, Gene Carson, Chris Walker, Kevin Moore and Simms.

The 38th staging will showcase a repertoire of musical offerings spanning classical, Negro spiritual and gospel, and will feature the NDTC Singers, supported by the orchestra, under the musical stylings of acting musical director, Dr Kathy Brown.

The Easter Sunrise presentation will open with Hallelujah Chorus from Handel’s Messiah, and close in the usual fashion - with Marjorie Whylie’s Our Father and Noel Dexter’s Psalm 150.

The choral wing includes sopranos: Faith Livingstone, Kaydene, Gordon, Toni Barrett; contraltos Helen Christian, Kamala Nicholson-Johnson, Debrah-Ann Rosewelt, Kimone Johnson; tenors Kemar Lee, Kevan Williams, Joshua Page, Tah-je Thompson and bassists, Heston Boothe, Conrod Hall and Shane Wright.

They will perform Travis Green’s You Made A Way, Bless The Lord by Tye Tribbett and the traditional spiritual Done Made My Vow. The Singers will be supported in the orchestra by Henry Miller and Jesse Golding (drums), Andre Henry and Roel Miller (guitar) and Kevan Williams (keyboard).

Remounts and New Works

Other highlights of the performance are the remount of an audience favourite - Cry of the Spirit, choreographed by Gene Carson, and danced by ballet mistress, Kerry-Ann Henry. Vision, created by veteran choreographer and dancer, Clive Thompson, will be performed in tribute to former NDTC dancer, Chris Morrison, who passed away in January. It will be performed by Javal Lewis and Ashley Bromfield, who represent the new generation of dancers.

New works by Chris Walker ( Yallahs) and Simms ( Bless the Lord) will draw from the full complement of dancers, which includes Mark Phinn, Marisa Benain, Paul Newman, Kamar Tucker, Mishka Williams, Kemar Francis, Michael Small, Atardo Henry, Jada Buchanan, Kanille Brudy, Shanice Neita, Shacile Harrison, Dannielle Mullings and Katharine Lee.

Patrons are asked to be seated by 5:45 am.