Sun | Oct 25, 2020

Digicel presents the 'Face of Change'

Published:Thursday | March 2, 2017 | 10:30 AM
Sir Patrick Allen
Jean Lowrie-Chin

A new campaign to honour and celebrate the work of Jamaica's community organisations, under the banner 'Face of Change', has received the endorsement of the governor general's 'I Believe' initiative.

'I Believe' is one arm of the governor general's Programme for Excellence, established to build hope and strengthen youth endeavours across the island. Governor General Sir Patrick Allen sees Face of Change, a Digicel Foundation project, as a right fit for his community empowerment outreach initiative.

"The Face of Change initiative will motivate and inspire those community groups that have been actively delivering critical services to the needy and most vulnerable across the island," said Jean Lowrie-Chin, chair of the Digicel Foundation.


"Face of Change will encourage and reward the spirit of voluntarism and human compassion. For the majority of these organisations, funding is not easily available, yet they remain resilient in their efforts and steadfast in their determination to make a difference in their communities," Lowrie-Chin added.

In 2011 the service-oriented programme for youth, the I Believe Initiative, was launched by Allen to motivate and inspire young people to believe in themselves to achieve their God-given potential and also to give service to their country. Its mantra is, 'There is nothing wrong with Jamaica that cannot be fixed by what is right with Jamaica.' Its projects and activities are centred on three areas of emphasis: family, youth and education.

The Digicel Foundation, which won the Council of Voluntary Social Services (CVSS), non-profit organisation award for outstanding volunteerism, has selected 21 finalists who will receive training and publicity to enhance their work and boost opportunities for partnership with other corporate and public entities.

The public is invited to visit the competition page at to vote for their favourite entry. The voting period runs from February 20 to March 17 with the first-place winner receiving $300,000; second place, $200,000; third place, $100,000; and social media favourite, $50,000.