Sat | May 28, 2022

B. Paul Wright elected head of PTHA

Published:Tuesday | January 11, 2022 | 12:06 AM

The Port Trailer Haulage Association (PTHA) elected B. Paul Wright as its president during its annual general meeting on December 11, 2021.

Wright, the association’s seventh president, takes over from Alva Wood, who did not seek re-election.

In his acceptance speech, he promised to continue the PHTA’s engagement of stakeholders and the Government to address issues related to high driver turnover rate and slow truck turnaround time at the terminals.

Other elected members of the executive committee are Vice President Shawn James; General Secretary Frederick Northover; Treasurer Michael Knight; and executive council members Andrew Henry, Ruel Gibson, Duane Marzouca, Christopher Williams, Ainsworth Williams, Marlon Reynolds, Teymar Anderson and Tancia Nurse. Wood remains on the committee as its immediate past president.

The PHTA was formed in 1981 to represent tractor trailer owners who primarily transport freight to and from the port of Kingston.