Wed | Aug 4, 2021

Brathwaite named WI T20 captain

Published:Monday | August 8, 2016 | 12:00 AMCMC

ST JOHN’S, Antigua (CMC):
The West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) has finally confirmed all-rounder Carlos Brathwaite to lead a 13-man squad in two Twenty20s against India in Florida at month end, but intimated that previous captain Darren Sammy’s form had not been good enough for him to retain his spot in the side.
In a brief reference to Sammy’s omission in a WICB statement late yesterday, new chairman of selectors Courtney Browne said the squad had been selected “purely on players’ performances”.
The statement also thanked Sammy for “his leadership of that format of the game for the two World Championship titles in 2012 and earlier this year”.
Sammy’s sacking has caused outrage across the region with fans taking to social media to express their disgust at the decision by selectors.
He has now been replaced by the 28-year-old Brathwaite who was the hero of the recent T20 World Cup final against England, when he blasted four consecutive sixes off the last over to earn the Windies a dramatic victory.
Brathwaite, who finished on 34 not out, had batted just twice before in the tournament, scoring 10 not out and 13, to manage 57 runs overall. He took four wickets at an average of 36 and an economy rate of eight runs an over.
Brathwaite’s subsequent returns in the Caribbean Premier League were also lean, making 5, 1, 8 and 11, in his four innings for St Kitts and Nevis Patriots, while picking up three wickets.
Overall, Brathwaite averages 19 with the bat from eight T20Is and has taken five wickets at an average of 42 and an economy rate of nearly nine.

One of the most talented

“Brathwaite is one of the most talented players in the T20 format of the game and his humble and committed approach to the game can inspire young and upcoming players,” the former West Indies wicketkeeper said.
Sammy is one of five changes to the squad that won the World Cup, with wicketkeeper Denesh Ramdin, left-arm spinner Sulieman Benn, off-spinner Ashley Nurse and fast bowler Jerome Taylor all overlooked.
Off-spinner Sunil Narine and Kieron Pollard, both of whom missed the T20 World Cup, are back in the side.
Test and one-captain, Jason Holder, has retained his spot despite not playing a single game during the World Cup and missing the entire CPL.
The two T20s against India are scheduled for August 27 and 28 at the Central Broward Regional Park Stadium in Fort Lauderdale.
SQUAD: Carlos Brathwaite (captain), Andre Fletcher, Andre Russell, Chris Gayle, Marlon Samuels, Dwayne Bravo, Evin Lewis, Jason Holder, Johnson Charles, Kieron Pollard, Sunil Narine, Lendl Simmons, Samuel Badree.