Fri | Sep 29, 2023

Brilliant Burrowes wins Caymanas Classic

Published:Tuesday | February 28, 2023 | 12:33 AMLennox Aldred/Gleaner Writer
Justin Burrowes.
Justin Burrowes.

Justin Burrowes was in scintillating form over the weekend as his four-under-par total of 212 secured him another Caymanas Classic men’s title following the culmination of the 54-hole event at the Caymanas Golf course on Sunday.

With World Amateur ranking points up for grabs, the players battled through 27 holes of golf on both days (Saturday and Sunday) with Burrowes lighting up the course with scores of 69, 36, 35 and 72 in round four to finish 18 shots ahead of second-place William Knibbs, who shot 14 over par 230.

Veteran Sean Morris held down third place after his 16 over par 232 with St Ann native Zandre Roye finishing fourth following scores of 23 over par 239.

For Burrowes, playing 27 holes in one day tested his mental toughness, but he was glad he was able to defend his title.

“It was certainly a test of fitness because on Saturday we were out there for seven hours and Sunday was pretty similar. You had to stay patient because the course was playing tough, but I played every shot to the best of my ability and it worked out in the end,” said Burrowes.

In the meantime, Jamaica Golf Association President Jodi Munn-Barrow secured the ladies’ 0-6 category following her six over par 150 which included rounds of 76 and 74. The ladies’ 13 and up category went to Diane Hudson following her score of 36 over par 180.

Bruce Levy took home the Men’s 7-12 category following his 23 over par 167. The 13-24 Men’s category went to Damian Anderson who shot a 45 over par 189.

The men’s Super Senior 0-12 category went to Mike Boyd following his two-round total of four over par 148. The 13-24 Super Senior crown went to George Wright who shot a 47 over par 191. Dave Lyn secured the Masters section following his 20 over par 164.

In the Junior boys’ 11-13 division, Kemari Morris won following his 27 over par 171 while Davin Hogan of Canada secured the 14-15 event with a score of 36 over par 180.

The Boys’ under 18 event went to Jerome Thomas with a score of 38 over par 182.